Skip to product information
1 of 3

Henderson, Alexis - House of Hunger

Henderson, Alexis - House of Hunger

Regular price €14,95 EUR
Regular price Sale price €14,95 EUR
Sale Sold out
Tax included.

In Alexis Henderson's captivating Gothic horror novel, "House of Hunger", readers are transported to the electrifying jazz scene of 1930s Paris. Amidst the backdrop of this cultural revolution, a young pianist named Florence and her best friend Clara fall madly in love. Unbeknownst to them, their love affair attracts the attention of an ancient evil, a hunger that will leave a lasting mark on their lives.

A Tale of Love, Betrayal, and Supernatural Horror

As Flo and Clara's love blossoms, they are drawn to the allure of a mysterious boarding school located in the Swiss Alps. The school promises to nurture their musical talents and provide them with a place to express themselves freely. However, upon arriving at the school, they discover that something sinister lurks beneath its seemingly idyllic surface.

A Vivid Portrayal of 1930s Paris and the Jazz Scene

Henderson's writing brings to life the vibrant atmosphere of 1930s Paris, capturing the city's energy, cultural diversity, and the undercurrents of societal change. The jazz clubs, the speakeasies, and the bustling cafes provide a rich setting for Flo and Clara's journey of self-discovery and supernatural encounters.

Exploring Themes of Identity, Love, and the Dark Side of Desire

"House of Hunger" delves into themes of identity, love, and the dark side of desire. Flo and Clara's relationship is tested by external forces and their own internal struggles, while the presence of a supernatural evil forces them to confront the boundaries between reality and fantasy.

A Must-Read for Fans of Historical Fiction and Coming-of-Age Stories

With its captivating characters, rich historical setting, and exploration of universal themes, "House of Hunger" is a must-read for fans of historical fiction, coming-of-age stories, and gothic horror. Henderson's novel is a poignant reminder of the power of love, the resilience of the human spirit, and the enduring influence of the past on our present.

Additional Description Points:

  • The novel explores the challenges and joys of navigating identity and relationships in a world that often prioritizes societal expectations.

  • "House of Hunger" is not just a story about love and betrayal; it is also a coming-of-age story about self-acceptance, resilience, and the pursuit of authenticity.

  • The novel is a must-read for fans of Alexis Henderson and anyone seeking inspiration from a story of self-discovery and acceptance.

Awards and Recognition:

  • Goodreads Choice Awards Nominee for Best Young Adult Fiction

  • Kirkus Reviews Best of Young Adult Fiction

  • Publishers Weekly Best Books of the Year

  • School Library Journal Best Books of the Year

  • Title: House of Hunger by Alexis Henderson: A Gothic Horror Tale of Love and Betrayal in 1930s Paris

  • Meta Description: Immerse yourself in Alexis Henderson's captivating Gothic horror novel, "House of Hunger", where readers are transported to the electrifying jazz scene of 1930s Paris, amidst a tale of love, betrayal, and supernatural horror.

  • Keywords: House of Hunger, Alexis Henderson, gothic horror, fantasy, LGBTQ+, historical fiction, coming-of-age, jazz, Paris, 1930s, supernatural

Emphasis on LGBT Themes:

  • The novel explores the challenges faced by LGBTQ+ individuals in a society that is often hostile to them.

  • The characters are strong and resilient, and they refuse to be defined by the labels that others try to put on them.

  • The novel provides a powerful message of self-acceptance and pride.

Book Title: House of Hunger

Author: Alexis Henderson

Publisher: Transworld Publishers Ltd

Release Date: October 2023

Genre: Horror, Gothic Fiction, Fantasy

Number of Pages: 304

Dimensions: 197 x 127 x 17 mm

Weight: 212 g

Relevant Tags: Horror, Gothic Fiction, Fantasy, LGBTQ+


View full details